Delta County MI Subdivisions


Profiles for 16 County Subdivisions in Delta County Michigan

There are 1,573 county subdivisions in Michigan known as minor civil divisions (MCDs).  There are 1,123 townships and 117 charter townships which are all actively functioning governmental units.  Townships are the original units of government formed in the state. Typically, though not always, townships are 36 square miles in size.  Each township is governed by a board of trustees consisting of the township supervisor, township clerk, township treasurer, and two or four elected trustees. The entire state is covered by township governments except for areas within cities. 

The 275 cities in Michigan are independent of MCDs and serve as 293 county subdivisions.  Cities are incorporated places and governed by home rule.  When established, the geographic area of a city is removed from the township(s) of which it may have been a part. 

In addition, there are 40 undefined MCDs that are water area only.

Subdivisions in Delta County

Subdivisions that are also Incorporated Places have an asterisk(*) and the link takes you to the Community Profile for the Incorporated Place.

Puerto Rico’s Forgotten Island Vieques Needs Help

Puerto Rico’s Forgotten Island Vieques Needs Help

In the very early morning hours of September 20, 2017, the eyewall of Hurricane Maria passed over the tiny island of Vieques, Puerto Rico as a Category 5 hurricane, before moving westwards to mainland Puerto Rico. Maria ravaged the 60-square mile island with sustained winds of over 150 MPH and storm surges of over 12 feet, destroying homes, local businesses and causing widespread devastation.

Learn how you can help now!